CCAE State Awards–Description

CCAE's State Level Awards

CCAE proudly recognizes our classified staff, teachers, and administrators. Winners will be honored at the annual the 2019 CCAE State Conference in San Diego, California at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina on April 25-27, 2019.


George C. Mann Distinguished Service Award

George C. Mann served as the Chief of the Bureau of Adult Education and Executive Secretary for CCAE in the 1940’s and 1950’s. During his twenty-two year career as an adult education leader, the concept of public school adult education in California went from dream to reality. His affectionate nickname, “Mr. Adult Education,” was inspired by his devotion and tireless work on behalf of public school adult education. It is fitting that our highest honor bears his name.

Eligibility: Nominees are adult educators who have been in the profession for at least ten years and a member of CCAE for at least the last three years.  They nominee must have demonstrated leadership abilities through consistent service to CCAE at the Chapter, Section, and State levels.

Donald A. McCune Collaborative Award

This award honors the memory of Donald A. McCune who was Director of the Adult, Alternative, and Continuing Education Division of the State Department of Education, when he was killed while piloting his own plane in 1986. As an administrator, educator, and advocate for adult programs, he received numerous honors and awards.  He served as the CCAE Board Liaison from the SDE and was selected by President Reagan to serve on the Training Committee of the White House Conference on Productivity.  He was also a member of the Board of the American Association of Adult and Continuing Education.  He held a doctoral degree from Stanford University and authored a number of national publications in the field of adult literacy.

Eligibility: The nominee must have, for five years or more, established collaborative arrangements among agencies to enhance services to the adult learner. Membership in CCAE of at least three years, including the current year, is required.  Letters of endorsement from collaborative agencies should be included.

Dr. Robert W. Rupert Award

This award honors the memory of Dr. Robert Rupert whose 23 year career in adult education culminated in his service as the Assistant Superintendent of Adult and Occupational Education in the Los Angeles City Unified School District. He began his career teaching junior high school science then, quickly moved into adult education. As an administrator, he was well known for his belief that adult administrators hold positions that demand a twenty-four hour-a-day commitment.  The list of his service in the AEALA and CCAE is too long to include here, as is the list of his awards and honors. In words too brief, he put into place many important changes and led adult education with unmatched dedication and wisdom.

Eligibility: This prestigious award is not necessarily presented annually, but is presented at the discretion of the CCAE State Awards Committee only when it wishes to recognize and honor an individual whose impact on adult education has been widely acknowledged. The recipient’s leadership and contributions to adult education at local, state, and national levels and to CCAE have been EXCEPTIONAL. Membership in CCAE for at least three years, including the current year is required.

Award of Merit

This award is designed to honor adult educators who have performed outstanding statewide service to CCAE.

Eligibility:  The nominee must be an adult educator who has been a member of CCAE for at least the past three years and who has performed outstanding STATEWIDE service to CCAE and adult education.

Citation of Merit

Not all important contributions to adult education are made by education professionals!  Business people and community members provide contributions that deserve recognition, as this award is designed to do.

Eligibility: The nominee, who is from a profession other than adult education, has made contributions of outstanding value to adult education.

Partners in Adult Education Excellence Award

Contributions to adult education are made by many educational and community organizations.  These groups have made a positive impact on student learning and their contributions deserve recognition, as this award is designed to do.

Eligibility: The nominee, which is an agency serving adult education, has demonstrated effective collaborations between education and community learners in both the creation and implementation of adult education programs. They have sustained a positive impact on student‘s learning and have had broad support and active involvement in the community. This agency has shown exemplary educational practices towards adult schools that can be replicated by others.

Life Membership Award

At retirement, we look back on our careers with enviable clarity.  We see where we succeeded and where we learned to perfect our skills.  This award is presented to retiring or retired CCAE members, who have had outstanding service to CCAE at the chapter, section, or state levels.

Eligibility:  The nominee must be a retired or retiring member with a minimum of ten years of service to adult education and three years membership in CCAE including the current year. Nominee must have made significant contribution to the chapter, section, or state level of CCAE.  Nominees will be selected by their respective Chapters or Section Boards.  Life Membership shall be awarded at the annual state conference.

Excellence in Teaching Award

Every day, gifted teachers reach out and touch their students’ hearts and souls.  Adult education teachers truly understand that learning is lifelong, and they give their expertise to anyone with a thirst for knowledge.

Eligibility: The nominee is a teacher with three or more years of experience who is recognized as a master teacher. CCAE membership for at least three years, including the current year, is required.  Nominee must be selected by their respective Section Boards.  Each section may submit one nominee for each 250 members as reported the previous June 30. 

Excellence in Support Services Award

This award recognizes outstanding service to CCAE at the chapter, section, or state levels by a classified employee.

Eligibility: The nominee must be employed in classified status in an adult education program. Membership in CCAE for at least three years, including the current year, is required. Nominee must be selected by their respective Section Boards. Each Section may submit one nominee.