Home > 2019 CCAE State Award Winners

Life Membership Award

Lynne NicoDemus

Bay Section


Lynne Nicodemus was vice principal at PAEC for fourteen years, from 2000-2014, and was principal until July 2018. She has served during some lean and rocky times but has been a tireless champion of adult education. Lynne served on the CATESOL Board from 1996-2005 and was president in 2004. Lynne has been on the OTAN Advisory Board since 2012 and has also served every year since 2012 on WASC. Additionally, she is actively involved in curriculum development and teaching for CALPRO. She has also been one of the steadfast leaders of the Contra Costa County Consortium. Lynne is a born collaborator and has partnered with the AFL-CIO; America’s Job Center; Brighter Beginnings; the CA Department of Rehabilitation; Contra Costa County Workforce Development Board; Delta Medical Services; Diablo Valley Community College; East County Senior Coalition; Employment and Human Services; Future Build; Goodwill Industries; Hanger Clinic; Legacy Nursing and Rehabilitation; Los Medanos Community College; Pittsburg Chamber of Commerce; Regional Opportunity Program; Rotacare Pittsburg Free Medical Clinic at St. Vincent de Paul; and Windsor Manor Youth Development Center.

Lynne invests heavily in training and highly encourages her staff to attend conferences. She has initiated direct instruction for ABE/ASE students resulting in a marked increase in diplomas. Lynne has created very successful parent ESL classes on six district K-12 campuses. Lynne has opened an on-site career center and has gotten it affiliated as a satellite center of America’s Job Center. She has expanded an already esteemed ESL program that brings students from far and wide. Lynne has hired a community liaison to build volunteer and internship programs as well as increase direct hiring opportunities for students. Lynne has been involved with CCAE since 1993. She has served on the Bay Section Board from 2013 to 2016 and was the regional awards chair for almost five years. She has also served on the conference committee for several years. She is a strong advocate of continuous improvement and steadfastly models the school motto: ‘dedicated to life learning.’