Home > About > President

President's Message

I certainly hope that you were able to take some time off this summer and recharge your batteries. It is with great pleasure that I write to you as the new President of CCAE. The Executive Board (Lorrie Christie, Steve Curiel, Bob Harper, Sonya RamirezLarriann Torrez, and I) has several exciting events in the works, as well as some special focus items for this year.
We are reverting to quarterly editions of the Communicator (September, December, March, and June). In months when the Communicator doesn't come out, we will still send e-mail blasts when necessary.
Membership is a focus for the year. It is extremely helpful if site leaders foster opportunities for staff to learn about CCAE's mission. These might include social events, presentations to staff, sign-up tables, renewal or new member incentives, membership drawings, electronic newsletters, or even more creative outreach ideas.
Is your school an institutional member? Last year 61 adult schools took a stand to directly support the work of CCAE by registering as Institutional Members. Included with institutional membership is a beautiful wall plaque, acknowledgment on our state website and conference program, and full membership rights for two staff members named by the institution. Go to ccaestate.org/institutional-members for an Institutional Membership enrollment form.
Legislative Advocacy will continue to be a focus for the year. We will rely on our advocacy team including the chair, Vittoria Abbate-Maghsoudi, and our Legislative Analyst, Dawn Koepke, and the section legislative representatives to keep you informed of what is happening at the Capitol and how you can help.
As President I look forward to visiting CCAE Chapter and Section events. Please invite me to your events. I'm looking forward to attending Bay Section's Silent Wine Auction on the 20th of September.
If you have any questions or suggestions for the Board, don't hesitate to contact me at adult_education1856@comcast.net.

Susan Lytle Gilmore, Ph.D. 

CCAE President